HCL Anderson Award

The HCL Anderson Award is the Association's highest honour that can be bestowed on an Associate Member of ALIA. It is awarded in recognition of outstanding service to the library and information profession in Australia and to ALIA; and to either the theory of library and information science or to the practice of library and information services (or to both of these areas).

The award commemorates HCL Anderson, principal librarian of the Free Public Library of New South Wales from 1893 to 1906. Anderson created a collection and service policy to give his infant colonial library a stature of national importance. He worked with DS Mitchell, wealthy collector of Australiana, adding, to the bequest of justice Edward Wise, Mitchell's extensive collections of books, manuscripts and maps, to build and preserve the first collection of national significance. Anderson persuaded Mitchell to finance the housing of the collection in what is now the Mitchell Library of the State Library of New South Wales. In addition to this protracted task, Anderson promoted the education of librarians and the expansion of services to the community, (including those in remote areas), as well as to business and industry. His vision, dedication and achievements provide a model for those nominated for this award.

The HCL Anderson award is an annual, peer-nominated award. 

Previous winners can be found in the ALIA Honours Board 'Who's Who' of the Association; ALIA Honours BoardA-F, G-M, and N-Z

Former ALIA President and current CEO and State Librarian of WA Margaret Allen was the recipient of the prestigious award for 2022

Award nomination type Peer nominated

Open date: Closed for 2024

Closing date: 19 April 2024

Award form
(select HCL Anderson Award)