International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA)

IFLA is the international body for library associations and ALIA is an active member.

The Association is represented by the ALIA President and/or a senior officer, at the annual World Library and Information Congress.

Australian Caucus

At the 2016 Congress in Columbus OHIO USA the first official Australian Caucus took place on Saturday 13 August 2016 18:45-19:45.

IFLA Committees

 ALIA places on IFLA committees:

  • Asia and Oceania (2013–2017) Jayshree Mamtora, ALIA NT Manager

  • Continuing PD & Workplace Learning (2015-2019) Gillian Hallam, former ALIA President 

  • Governing Board of IFLA (2015-2017) Margaret Allen, former ALIA President 

  • Governing Board of IFLA (2015-2017) Christine Mackenzie, former ALIA President 

  • Library Theory and Research (2015-2019) Gaby Haddow

  • Management and Marketing (2015-2019) Damian Lodge, former ALIA President

  • Management of Library Associations (2015-2019) Judy Brooker, ALIA Director of Learning

  • Public Libraries (2015-2019) Jan Richards, former ALIA President

  • Committee on Standards (Chair) (2015-2017) Jan Richards, former ALIA President

  • School Libraries (2015-2019) Judy O’Connell 

Representatives on these committees are self-funded.


IFLA Sections

ALIA is a member of the following sections:

  • Public Libraries (section 8)

  • School Libraries (section 11)

  • Information Technology (section 21)

  • Education and Training (section 23)

  • Library Theory and Research (section 24)

  • Asia and Oceania (section 26)

  • Management and Marketing (section 34)

  • Management of Library Associations (section 40)

  • Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning (section 43)

  • Indigenous Matters (section 50)


Other ALIA Members hold formal positions with IFLA committees as a result of their personal or institutional membership of the international association. These include:

  • Academic and Research Libraries (Chair) (2013-2017) Vicki McDonald, current ALIA Director

  • Academic and Research Libraries (2013-2017) Gulcin Cribb

  • Academic and Research Libraries (2013-2017) Janet Fletcher

  • Asia & Oceania (2015-2017) Heather Todd

  • Copyright and other Legal Matters (Chair) (2015-2017) Evelyn Woodberry, ALIA Fellow

  • Library History Special Interest Group (Convenor) Kerry Smith, Former ALIA President

  • Literacy and Reading (2013-2017) Barbara Combes

  • Public Libraries (Chair) (2013-2017) Marian Morgan-Bindon, current ALIA Director


Find out more about IFLA on the website

Contact the ALIA Membership team to find out ALIA's IFLA number.