ALIA awards, scholarships and grants

ALIA Awards

Each year the ALIA community recognises excellence in professional practice and research within the field of library and information management.

We offer a range of awards, grants and scholarships that celebrate the achievements of our Members and you can find out more about past recipients on the ALIA Honours Board.

If you have any questions regarding the nomination process, please contact us via or call 02 6215 8222.

Australian Honours

To recognise the work of outstanding peers and their contribution to the library and information sector, the ALIA Board of Directors encourages members of the Association to put forward nominations for the Australian Honours Awards. The Order of Australia recognises Australians for outstanding service or exceptional achievement. 

Everyone that is recognised is nominated by someone in the community. This means we all have the ability to recognise someone for their hard-work and service. It also means that it is up to all of us to ensure our national awards system represents our diversity - across gender, cultural backgrounds and categories of endeavour. The Governor-General of Australia has written to us and we are working with his Office to both raise awareness of the Order of Australia and improve its diversity.

It only takes a few moments of your time to nominate someone exceptional. To start, click here.

Title Description Closing
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student Scholarship
The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) and Charles Sturt University (CSU) offer a scholarship to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and South Sea Islander students planning a career in Library and Information Science (LIS) commencing full time or part time study at CSU leading to ALIA Associate membership.  
ALIA Des Tellis Australian Geoscience Information Association Grant

This grant is for research, knowledge-sharing or the development of tools and resources related to geoscience information and data management in Australia.

ALIA NT Recognition Award

ALIA NT Recognition Award encourages recognition of an individual or team working in any sector of the library and information profession in the Northern Territory.

Ann Clyde Memorial Prize

An annual prize for an essay or presentation with a research component. Three winners each receive a $100 cheque

Anne Harrison Award

Commemorating Anne Harrison, the award is available in alternate years for research or education in health librarianship.

Bess Thomas Award

Encouraging and supporting the development of innovative and significant public library services to young people.

Distinguished Certified Professional

Must be a registered member of the ALIA PD scheme for a minimum of five years, accumulate a minimum of 200 points, provide evidence of a significant degree of autonomy in decision-making in practice and be currently employed in the Australian LIS or an allied sector.

F A Sharr Award

The F A Sharr Award is presented to a Western Australian librarian or library technician in their first three years post graduation who exhibits the most potential to make a significant contribution to the library profession in WA.


Recognising the attainment of an exceptionally high standard of proficiency in library and information science and a distinguished contribution to the theory or practice of library and information science.

HCL Anderson Award

Honouring outstanding achievement within the library and information services sector by an associate member.

HLA/MedicalDirector Digital Health Innovation Award

Showcasing innovative projects which, through the use of health informatics or web technologies, contribute to or support improved health outcomes.

Library Technician of the Year Award

This award promotes the role of library technicians in library and information science, and the role and image of the library technician.

Marjorie Cotton Award

Promoting the role and image of librarians providing library services for young people.

Metcalfe Award

Recognising high achievement by a personal financial member in their first five years of practice in libraries and information services.

Nancy Booker Honour Lecture

The Nancy Booker Honour Lecture was instituted by the NSW Group of the Children's and Youth Services.

Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award

The Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award is an annual merit prize.

Redmond Barry Award

Honouring outstanding contribution to the library and information services sector by an individual who is not eligible for associate or library technician membership.

Research Grant Award

An annual award up to $5000 open to to library practitioners and early career LIS researchers who are members of ALIA.

Silver Pin

Recognising ALIA Members who have served for five terms on ALIA committees.

Student Awards

Recognising students for excellence in their studies.

Twila Ann Janssen Herr Research Award for Disability Services

A biennial award up to $5000 that aims to encourage an early career LIS practitioner to investigate and research the potential for further development of Australian services for people with a disability.

WA Library Technicians Group (WALT) Symposium Grant

A biennial grant, to enable a WA library technician student or recent graduate to attend a national library technicians' symposium.


ALIA Research Grants

Applying for a research grant?

Applicants must read the ethics guide and consider whether an ethics application is necessary for their proposed research.


Application for ethics approval

Application for approval of research

How to write a research proposal

Research project guide for practitioners

Terms and conditions

If you are seeking information about previous awards and past winners, please refer to this document.

Page updated 28 May 2021.