Libraries represent opportunities and solutions for Standards Australia

The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA), National and State Libraries Australia (NSLA), and the Australian Library Copyright Committee (ALCC) have made a joint submission to the Standards Australia Distribution and Licensing Policy Framework.

The submission calls for a non-exclusive model for the distribution of Standards information in Australia and is supportive of Standard Australia’s proposed principles – greater reach, awareness and use of Standards, ensuring long-term sustainability. The library partners make the point that ‘access’ should also be included, setting a minimum requirement for public access to the Standards.

ALIA CEO Sue McKerracher said, ‘By combining forces, ALIA, NSLA and ALCC have been able to put forward a compelling, well researched, evidence-based submission, despite a tight deadline. We have also been represented at consultation forums in several cities and Standards Australia commented about the strength of the library lobby at these events’.

As there are some 13,600 libraries in Australia, serving approximately 12.9 million users, libraries offer a unique opportunity to provide access to Standards in ways which complement and balance the commercial imperative with the public good.

Additionally, libraries offer an unprecedented solution to enable access to historic Standards, through existing services such as the ground-breaking National edeposit service (NED), which will be launched on 16 August, by Mr Paul Fletcher MP, Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts.

The submission can be seen on the ALIA website.


About the Australian Library and Information Association

The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) is the professional organisation and peak body for the Australian library and information services sector.

On behalf of our 5,000 personal and institutional members, we provide the national voice of the profession in the development, promotion and delivery of quality library and information services to the nation, through leadership, advocacy and mutual support. We represent school, public, academic, research, corporate, law, health, government, National, State and Territory libraries and the people who staff them.

Contact:  Karolina Firman, Communications Officer,


About NSLA

National and State Libraries Australia (NSLA) is the peak body for Australia’s national, state and territory libraries. Member libraries include the National Library of Australia, ACT Libraries, State Library of New South Wales, Northern Territory Library, State Library of South Australia, State Library of Queensland, Libraries Tasmania, State Library Victoria and State Library of Western Australia.

About the ALCC

The Australian Library Copyright Committee (ALCC) is a representative for Australian libraries, archives and information providers on copyright matters. The ALCC advocates for copyright law reform in the public interest and offers informed contributions to domestic and international copyright law and policy discussions.

It also organises copyright education, including training and online information resources targeted at the library and archive sectors. The ALCC and its members support a copyright framework that appropriately protects the interests of right holders while ensuring access to important cultural, educational and historic content for the public’s benefit.

Tuesday 30 July 2019 10:45am